Przejdź do głównej treści

Widok zawartości stron Widok zawartości stron

Prof. Marek Samoć

Prof. Marek Samoć

Professor of Materials Science and Head of Advanced Materials Engineering and Modelling Group

Degrees and Titles: 
PhD. in Chemistry - Technical University of Wroclaw, Poland, Institute of Organic and Physical Chemistry, 1977
Habilitation (D.Sc.) - Technical University of Wroclaw, 1985 
Professor of Chemical Sciences – title awarded by the President of the Republic of Poland, 2007

Scientific Community Service:

Member of the Council of the National Science Centre, Poland (NCN) for 2018-2022
Corresponding Member of the Polish Academy of Sciences.
Corresponding Member of the Polish Academy of Knowledge
Member of the European Academy of Sciences (EurASC)

Research Interests and Expertise:

  • Nonlinear optical materials and effects: Nonlinear absorption and refraction; second-order nonlinear optical effects and materials; third-order nonlinear optical effects and materials; nonlinear chirooptic effects.
  • Nanophotonics and biophotonics: Nanoconfined structures and metamaterials; colloidal semiconductor nanocrystals; upconverting nanoparticles; plasmonic nanostructures; markers for nonlinear microscopy; light-activated theranostic systems.
  • Electrical and related properties of organic solids: Photoconduction, photovoltaics and charge carrier mobility; photorefractive effect.

Membership of Learned Societies: SPIE, Optical Society of America, Polish Chemical Society.

Track Record: ~380 publications, >10000 citations, h-index=58.

Major Awards: 

  • Foundation for Polish Science “Welcome” award (2009)
  • Poland Prime Minister Science Prize for outstanding achievements in scientific research (2015)
  • City of Wroclaw Science Prize (2016)
  • Foundation for Polish Science Prize (2016)
  • Polish Chemical Society Jan Zawidzki Medal (2017)
  • Sapienti Sat Medal from J. Sniadecki, K. Olszewski and Z. Wroblewski Association (2018)
  • French-Polish Award in Chemistry awarded by the French Chemical Society (2019)
  • Polish Chemical Society Jędrzej Śniadecki Medal (2020)